Southland v Otago
Other matches in New Zealand 1958/59
VenueQueen's Park, Invercargill on 6th, 7th February 1959 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultOtago won by 6 wickets
UmpiresGR Ayres, HB Cassie
Close of play day 1Otago (1) 101 all out

Southland first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+NR Thompsonc Procter b Harford5     
SG Mortonb Harford5     
JA Gillc Watson b Pearson12     
AW Gilbertsonc Watson b Pearson9     
GS McKenzieb Sutcliffe11     
RC Moretonb Frame2     
*JC Alabasterb Sutcliffe4     
RA Hollowayc Berry b Sutcliffe0     
RW Rewcastlec Edmunds b Frame0     
D Collettc Harford b Sutcliffe1     
K Craignot out1     
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)4
Total(all out, 169 minutes, 51.3 overs)54
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-15, 3-31, 4-34, 5-38, 6-52, 7-52, 8-52, 9-52, 10-54 (51.3 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Frame13   882--
Harford10   5142--
Clark8   630--
Pearson8   2112--
Huggett4   310--
Watson1   010--

Otago first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LF Watsonrun out10     
SG McKnightlbw b Craig21 109   
RA Procterlbw b Alabaster2     
LR Pearsonc Holloway b Alabaster0     
*B Sutcliffec Morton b Alabaster26  5- 
WJ Berrylbw b Alabaster6     
LA Clarkc McKenzie b Alabaster13     
+MR Edmundsc Holloway b Alabaster0     
JP Huggettb Alabaster7     
WD Framec and b Alabaster6     
GS Harfordnot out1     
Extras(4 b, 5 nb)9
Total(all out, 176 minutes, 63.2 overs)101
Fall of wickets:
1-18 (Watson), 2-24 (Procter), 3-24 (Pearson), 4-57 (Sutcliffe), 5-65 (McKnight), 6-78 (Berry), 7-78 (Edmunds), 8-85 (Clark), 9-91 (Frame), 10-101 (Huggett, 63.2 ov)
Southland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Craig16   4261--
Collett7   370--
Rewcastle16   8160--

Southland second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+NR Thompsonlbw b Frame2     
SG Mortonc Watson b Harford30     
JA Gillc Pearson b Harford0     
AW Gilbertsonb Harford4     
GS McKenzielbw b Clark24     
RC Moretonb Sutcliffe0     
*JC Alabasterc Edmunds b Harford1     
RA Hollowayb Sutcliffe1     
RW Rewcastlec Pearson b Sutcliffe1     
D Collettc Pearson b Sutcliffe0     
K Craignot out1     
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(all out, 42.4 overs)66
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Thompson), 2-9 (Gill), 3-15 (Gilbertson), 4-62 (McKenzie), 5-62 (Morton), 6-63 (Alabaster), 7-64 (Moreton), 8-64 (Holloway), 9-65 (Rewcastle), 10-66 (Collett, 42.4 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Frame5   371--
Harford9   574--
Pearson5   0130--
Huggett11   3300--
Clark6   341--
Berry1   010--

Otago second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+MR Edmundsb Alabaster0     
LR Pearsonc Morton b Rewcastle8     
GS Harfordb Alabaster0     
WD Frameb Rewcastle5     
RA Procternot out6     
LA Clarknot out1     
LF Watsondid not bat      
SG McKnightdid not bat      
*B Sutcliffedid not bat      
WJ Berrydid not bat      
JP Huggettdid not bat      
Total(4 wickets, 45 minutes, 15.3 overs)20
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Edmunds), 2-2 (Harford), 3-8 (Pearson), 4-17 (Frame)
Southland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alabaster8   4122--

Otago won the Warburton Shield for the sixth successive year