South Zone v New Zealanders
New Zealand in India and Pakistan 1955/56
VenueCentral College Ground, Bangalore on 26th, 27th, 28th November 1955 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSouth Zone won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNew Zealanders won by an innings and 3 runs
UmpiresM Anantaswamy Rao, SK Raghunatha Rao
Close of play day 1New Zealanders (1) 195/1 (Poore 82*, Harris 0*)
Close of play day 2South Zone (2) 53/4 (Balan Pandit 13*, Gopinath 7*)

South Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+M Balan Panditc Petrie b MacGibbon2     
ML Jaisimhac Cave b MacGibbon10     
DP Medhc Reid b MacGibbon30     
AA Baigb Alabaster25     
S Nazarethb Alabaster20     
*CD Gopinathrun out20     
AS Krishnaswamyc Alabaster b Reid6     
S Rama Raonot out14     
TD Krishnab Reid0     
MK Murugeshc MacGibbon b Reid2     
BR Mohan Raib Reid0     
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 3 nb)5
Total(all out, 40.4 overs)134
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-42, 3-47, 4-86, 5-105, 6-114, 7-118, 8-122, 9-134, 10-134 (40.4 ov)
New Zealanders bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
MacGibbon16   8323--
Cave4   0110--
Alabaster8   1302--

New Zealanders first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Sutcliffec Mohan Rai b Medh106  131 
MB Poorec Balan Pandit b Mohan Rai86     
PGZ Harrisc Gopinath b Murugesh53     
SN McGregorc Balan Pandit b Mohan Rai15     
JR Reidlbw b Medh78     
NS Harfordc Krishnaswamy b Jaisimha26     
AR MacGibbonnot out61     
JC Alabasternot out20     
*HB Cavedid not bat      
+EC Petriedid not bat      
TG McMahondid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 4 lb, 3 nb)14
Total(6 wickets, declared, 105 overs)459
Fall of wickets:
1-195, 2-199, 3-227, 4-351, 5-351, 6-424
South Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mohan Rai16   1742--
Rama Rao8   1340--
Jaisimha26   1931--
Murugesh22   11031--
Krishnaswamy2   0150--
Krishna8   1350--
Medh23   2912--

South Zone second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+M Balan Panditb Reid18     
ML Jaisimhast +McMahon b Cave27     
AA Baigc Reid b Cave3     
S Nazarethc Reid b Alabaster0     
DP Medhc Reid b Alabaster0     
*CD Gopinathc McMahon b Alabaster175 29525- 
S Rama Raolbw b Reid21     
TD Krishnac Reid b Cave20     
AS Krishnaswamyc McMahon b Alabaster42     
MK Murugeshc Reid b Alabaster4     
BR Mohan Rainot out1     
Extras(3 b, 4 lb, 4 nb)11
Total(all out, 128 overs)322
Fall of wickets:
1-32, 2-38, 3-38, 4-38, 5-85, 6-127, 7-225, 8-314, 9-317, 10-322 (128 ov)
New Zealanders bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
MacGibbon31   7780--
Cave24   12333--
Reid32   9722--
Alabaster34   7995--
McGregor4   1140--
Sutcliffe3   0150--

--> JR Reid (1) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 64
--> JC Alabaster (1) passed his previous highest score of 14 in first-class matches
--> CD Gopinath (2) passed his previous highest score of 133 in first-class matches
--> PGZ Harris made his debut in India in first-class matches
--> JC Alabaster achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the South Zone second innings (previous best was 2-8)
--> JC Alabaster achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the South Zone second innings