Marlborough v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in New Zealand 1960/61
VenueHorton Park, Blenheim on 4th, 5th January 1961 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMarlborough won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by an innings and 104 runs
UmpiresFM Faulding, AH Jellyman
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 175/4 (Parks 24*; 36 overs)

Marlborough first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TS Harleb Sayer5     
SE Lanest Murray b Wilson8     
EWG Tapleyc Murray b Sayer6     
*AJ McGuireb Sayer26     
GR Nealb Wilson4     
RC Sheridanst Murray b Barber62     
M Wilsonb Sayer7     
BD Nealc Stewart b Wilson3     
IA MacGregorb Barber32     
+IA Blackmoreb Barber8     
R Hodgesnot out0     
Extras(14 b, 13 lb)27
Total(all out, 78.2 overs)188
Fall of wickets:
1-7 (Harle), 2-15 (Tapley), 3-23 (Lane), 4-35 (GR Neal), 5-83 (McGuire), 6-97 (Wilson), 7-112 (BD Neal), 8-157 (Sheridan), 9-179 (Blackmore), 10-188 (MacGregor, 78.2 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith15   7200--
Sayer16   7244--
Wilson25   7653--
Parks7   1100--

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WE Russellb MacGregor72  8- 
RM Prideauxc Blackmore b BD Neal9     
WJP Stewartc Sheridan b Hodges43  6- 
JM Parksc Harle b BD Neal37     
*W Watsonrun out (Wilson)15     
RW Barberlbw b GR Neal75 7511- 
+JT Murraylbw b MacGregor34     
DR Smithc and b Hodges82 5056 
D Wilsonb MacGregor2     
DM Sayernot out0     
DA Allenabsent hurt
Extras(9 b, 9 lb, 9 nb)27
Total(all out, 235 minutes, 66 overs)396
Fall of wickets:
1-16 (Prideaux), 2-124 (Stewart), 3-145 (Russell), 4-175 (Watson, 35.6 ov), 5-204 (Parks), 6-281 (Barber), 7-382 (Murray), 8-388 (Smith), 9-396 (Wilson, 66 ov)
Marlborough bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wilson16   0640-7
BD Neal14   2742--
Hodges14   01012-4
GR Neal11   0671--
MacGregor11   0633--

Marlborough second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TS Harlec Murray b Sayer1     
SE Lanec Murray b Smith2     
EWG Tapleyc Parks b Barber13     
*AJ McGuirec sub (RJ Bryant) b Wilson19     
GR Nealc Russell b Barber6     
RC Sheridanst Murray b Wilson54     
M Wilsonc and b Russell0     
BD Nealc Watson b Barber0     
IA MacGregorc Watson b Wilson4     
+IA Blackmorec Parks b Wilson0     
R Hodgesnot out1     
Extras(4 b)4
Total(all out, 140 minutes, 49.1 overs)104
Fall of wickets:
1-2 (Harle), 2-7 (Lane), 3-31 (McGuire), 4-38 (Tapley), 5-61 (GR Neal), 6-64 (Wilson), 7-65 (BD Neal), 8-91 (MacGregor), 9-95 (Blackmore), 10-104 (Sheridan, 49.1 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sayer9   5171--
Smith5   421--
Barber9   4143--
Russell9   2371--
Parks2   040--

--> Marylebone Cricket Club first innings: 100 in 65 minutes

TS Harle scored 1 five in the Marlborough first innings
WE Russell and WJP Stewart added 108 for the second wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings
JT Murray and DR Smith added 101 for the seventh wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings
In the Marlborough second innings Marylebone Cricket Club needed to call on the Marlborough 12th man RJ Bryant,
and another local player J Bruce, to field as substitutes for Allen and Stewart who were injured