Wairarapa v Taranaki
Chapple Cup 1980/81 (Group B)
VenueQueen Elizabeth Park, Masterton on 13th, 14th December 1980 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn (Taranaki won on first innings)
Close of play day 1

Taranaki first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AE Saillbw b Mahoney19     
KG O'Neillb Mahoney24     
RL Westc Geange b MacDonald29 3222 
P Walshst JSC Payton b Short38 1043- 
BC Richardsnot out81 15452 
+PM Blackbournlbw b MacDonald8     
*AB Jordanlbw b Mahoney12     
PJ Lewingtonb Mahoney0     
KJ Crowleydid not bat      
CM Kirkdid not bat      
CJ Muggeridgedid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 4 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(7 wickets, declared, 71 overs)219
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-64, 3-142, 4-162, 5-181, 6-217, 7-219 (71 ov)
Wairarapa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
MacDonald13   4352--
Hall8   1270--
Mahoney28   4784--
Short16   3541--
Bracewell6   0160--

Wairarapa first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Shortb Kirk71 9011- 
DH Paytonc Walsh b Kirk35 1103- 
KD Geangeb Jordan6     
MA Fisherc West b Jordan0     
J Fanningc Crowley b Lewington9     
K Thomsonc Jordan b Kirk16     
+JSC Paytonrun out5     
DW Bracewellnot out13     
D Halllbw b Kirk1     
AJ Mahoneyc Walsh b Lewington14     
DB MacDonaldnot out14     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 18 nb)21
Total(9 wickets, declared, 66 overs)205
Fall of wickets:
1-113 (Short), 2-121 (Geange), 3-125 (DH Payton), 4-125 (Fisher), 5-153, 6-160, 7-163, 8-164, 9-182
Taranaki bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jordan17   8462--
Muggeridge8   0440--
Lewington14   6162--
West4   0200--
Kirk23   7584--

Taranaki second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AE Sailc JSC Payton b Bracewell3     
KG O'Neillst JSC Payton b Short32  2- 
RL Westc Bracewell b Mahoney40  5- 
P Walshrun out4     
BC Richardsc Fanning b Short28     
KJ Crowleyc Mahoney b Bracewell0     
+PM Blackbournnot out25     
PJ Lewingtonb Bracewell8     
*AB Jordanc Mahoney b MacDonald1     
CM Kirkdid not bat      
CJ Muggeridgedid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 3 lb, 3 w)8
Total(8 wickets, declared, 58.3 overs)149
Fall of wickets:
1-10 (Sail), 2-75, 3-85, 4-90, 5-97, 6-133, 7-148, 8-149 (58.3 ov)
Wairarapa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hall6   2110--
Bracewell25   4663--
Mahoney11   3251--
Fanning1   050--
Short7   0212--

Wairarapa second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Shortc Crowley b Muggeridge21     
DH Paytonlbw b Jordan7     
KD Geangeb Lewington10     
MA Fisherc Crowley b Lewington25     
K Thomsonb Muggeridge0     
J Fanningc Sail b Lewington4     
+JSC Paytonb Kirk0     
DW Bracewellnot out0     
D Hallb Lewington0     
AJ Mahoneynot out0     
DB MacDonalddid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 5 nb)7
Total(8 wickets, 29 overs)74
Fall of wickets:
1-12 (DH Payton), 2-40, 3-42, 4-42, 5-73, 6-73, 7-73, 8-73
Taranaki bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jordan5   1201--
Muggeridge8   2222--
Lewington11   6254--
Kirk4   401--
Sail1   100--

--> Bowling in the Taranaki first innings adds 1 run under

AW Short and DH Payton put on 113 in 90 minutes for the first wicket in the Wairarapa first innings
Wairarapa were given 48 minutes plus a minimum 20 overs in the last hour to get 164 for the outright win
Points: Wairarapa 9; Taranaki 10
Taranaki debut: KJ Crowley