Taranaki v Wanganui
Other matches in New Zealand 1957/58
VenuePukekura Park, New Plymouth on 31st January, 1st February 1958 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn (Wanganui won on first innings)
UmpiresGS Northcote, S Warren
Close of play day 1Taranaki (1) 26/2 (Simpson 2*, Meuli 0*; 12 overs)

Wanganui first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NL Blanchfieldlbw b Yardley76 22010- 
JT Jeromsonc Richardson b Bloor9     
NF Walkerb Yardley15 49   
DR Baronc Botting b Park31 106   
RE Brownrun out12     
EJ Urlichc Botting b Yardley8     
*JR Barnettnot out58 85   
DE Grantb Putt2     
KL Smithlbw b Putt4     
+JW Vernonc Simpson b Bloor4     
SN Jamesb Yardley13     
Total(all out, 305 minutes, 95.4 overs)252
Fall of wickets:
1-18 (Jeromson), 2-63 (Walker), 3-127 (Baron), 4-157 (Brown), 5-162 (Blanchfield), 6-183 (Urlich), 7-188 (Grant), 8-206 (Smith), 9-217 (Vernon), 10-252 (James, 95.4 ov)
Taranaki bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hall18   8240--
Bloor17   3532--
Park9   2281--
Meuli7   280--
Lahood4   0190--
Putt12   3392--

Taranaki first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RJ Lahoodc Vernon b Jeromson6     
FG Richardsonc Vernon b James10     
R Simpsonb Jeromson21     
EM Meulilbw b Jeromson12     
I Clementc Grant b Brown29     
MC Puttb Brown14     
+GS Bottingb James14     
DR Yardleylbw b Brown0     
D Parkb Brown3     
GB Hallnot out6     
CJ Bloorb James0     
Total(all out, 53.5 overs)134
Fall of wickets:
1-20, 2-24, 3-54, 4-77, 5-101, 6-114, 7-114, 8-122, 9-126, 10-134 (53.5 ov)
Wanganui bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jeromson18   4423--
Smith5   3110--
Brown8   3174--

Taranaki second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
*RJ Lahoodb Brown88 13910- 
FG Richardsonb Jeromson2  -- 
R Simpsonc Vernon b Grant43 948- 
EM Meulinot out38     
MC Puttc Barnett b Brown9     
I Clementnot out10     
+GS Bottingdid not bat      
DR Yardleydid not bat      
D Parkdid not bat      
GB Halldid not bat      
CJ Bloordid not bat      
Total(4 wickets, declared, 157 minutes, 52 overs)198
Fall of wickets:
1-11 (Richardson), 2-118 (Simpson), 3-168 (Lahood), 4-178 (Putt)
Wanganui bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jeromson11   3351--
James10   2380--
Smith3   0180--
Grant13   4311--
Brown15   0682--

Wanganui second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NL Blanchfieldnot out7     
JT Jeromsonc Putt b Hall10     
NF Walkernot out0     
DR Barondid not bat      
RE Browndid not bat      
EJ Urlichdid not bat      
*JR Barnettdid not bat      
DE Grantdid not bat      
KL Smithdid not bat      
+JW Vernondid not bat      
SN Jamesdid not bat      
Total(1 wicket, 39 minutes, 14 overs)20
Fall of wickets:
1-? (Jeromson)
Taranaki bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hall7   3121--
Yardley4   240--
Park3   210--

--> Taranaki second innings: 50 in 51 minutes
--> Taranaki second innings: 100 in 85 minutes
--> Taranaki second innings: 150 in 132 minutes

RJ Lahood and R Simpson added 107 in 94 minutes for the second wicket in the Taranaki second innings
Wanganui had 47 minutes to make 81 runs to win the game outright but made no effort to score the runs because they had the first innings lead and the game ended when their appeal against the light was upheld
Wanganui won the Smith Shield
Taranaki debuts: CJ Bloor, I Clement and RJ Lahood