Taranaki v Wanganui
Other matches in New Zealand 1930/31
VenueNew Plymouth on 12th, 13th, 15th December 1930 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWanganui won the toss and decided to bat
ResultTaranaki won by 1 wicket
UmpiresC Blake, GD Braund
Close of play day 1Taranaki (1) 106/6 (Kingstone ?*)
Close of play day 2Taranaki (2) 133/5 (Betts ?*, Groombridge 0*)

Wanganui first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*LA Woodc Kingstone b Barker65     
AJ Darbyc Harding b Lay14     
LR Spurdleb Groombridge13     
JH Williamsb Groombridge20     
RI Sewellb Nasmith17     
+Fowlerb Lay11     
Gregoryc Petty b Lay7     
GA McDougallc Lay b Groombridge43     
AG Grantc Kirwin b Lay0     
C Smithc Barker b Betts14     
H Evansnot out17     
Total(all out, 86 overs)238
Fall of wickets:
1-38 (Darby), 2-90 (Spurdle), 3-112 (Wood), 4-124 (Williams), 5-135 (Fowler), 6-146 (Sewell), 7-175 (Gregory), 8-179 (Grant), 9-209 (Smith), 10-238 (McDougall, 86 ov)
Taranaki bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kirwin9   4180--
Groombridge22   2503--
Lay23   2544--
Nasmith20   3541--
Barker6   3201--
Morrison1   040--
Betts5   0211--

Taranaki first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Barkerc Wood b McDougall032-- 
G Hardingb Spurdle10     
OM Nasmithb Grant39     
SH Bettsc Fowler b Grant16     
*CN Kingstonec Williams b McDougall34     
SA Laylbw b Evans2     
WM Groombridgec Smith b Spurdle7     
Crawfordrun out1     
J Kirwinb McDougall2     
+RA Pettynot out1     
JW Morrisonc Smith b Spurdle2     
Total(all out, 47 overs)131
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Barker, 0.3 ov), 2-49 (Harding), 3-73 (Nasmith), 4-88 (Betts), 5-91 (Lay), 6-106 (Groombridge), 7-111 (Crawford), 8-128 (Kirwin), 9-129 (Kingstone), 10-131 (Morrison, 47 ov)
Wanganui bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McDougall17   2403--
Spurdle17   3273--
Williams7   2230--
Grant4   0172--
Evans2   071--

Wanganui second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*LA Woodst Petty b Nasmith27     
AJ Darbylbw b Nasmith2     
LR Spurdleb Nasmith1     
RI Sewellb Kirwin17     
Gregoryc Petty b Betts6     
JH Williamsc Lay b Groombridge5     
GA McDougallst Petty b Betts6     
+Fowlerb Betts0     
C Smithb Betts0     
H Evansnot out10     
AG Grantb Nasmith3     
Total(all out, 48 overs)79
Fall of wickets:
1-29 (Wood), 2-30 (Darby), 3-33 (Spurdle), 4-47 (Sewell), 5-56 (Williams), 6-59 (Gregory), 7-59 (Fowler), 8-65 (Smith), 9-66 (McDougall), 10-79 (Grant, 48 ov)
Taranaki bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lay5   260--
Groombridge14   6211--
Crawford7   490--
Nasmith10   3134--
Kirwin3   0101--
Betts9   3184--

Taranaki second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*CN Kingstonec Williams b Spurdle5     
G Hardingrun out37     
OM Nasmithc Darby b McDougall48     
SH Bettsc Darby b McDougall25     
H Barkerlbw b Williams16     
SA Layb McDougall7     
WM Groombridgec Darby b Spurdle5     
+RA Pettyrun out11     
J Kirwinb Spurdle13     
Crawfordnot out6     
JW Morrisonnot out5     
Total(9 wickets, 76.3 overs)189
Fall of wickets:
1-5 (Kingstone), 2-88 (Harding), 3-93 (Nasmith), 4-123 (Barker), 5-133 (Lay), 6-143 (Groombridge), 7-154 (Betts), 8-177 (Kirwin), 9-179 (Petty)
Wanganui bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McDougall27   4703--
Williams7   3131--
Grant6   1140--
Evans4   190--
Smith2   090--

--> The match was scheduled for two days but extended to three.
--> Wanganui first innings: 100 in 100 minutes
--> Taranaki first innings: 50 in 45 minutes
--> Taranaki first innings: 100 in 95 minutes

Mr JM Thomson replaced Mr GD Braund for a few hours on the second day
Taranaki debuts: SH Betts, J Kirwin and JW Morrison