Nelson v Taranaki
Other matches in New Zealand 1899/00
VenueNelson on 7th, 8th January 1900 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNelson won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNelson won by 12 runs
UmpiresD Barnett (Nelson), W McLean (Wanganui)
ScorerG Dee
Close of play day 1Taranaki (1) 67/0 (Pratt 40*, LA Elliott 27*)

Nelson first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Corderc Gudgeon b McCarthy0     
J McFarlanec GT Bayly b Gudgeon5     
G Harperb McCarthy1     
LH Grahamb Gudgeon16     
H Wastneyc and b McCarthy17     
WDA Chisholmc Gudgeon b McCarthy3     
F Blincoeb McCarthy23     
*+RW Stilesc A Bayly b Gudgeon12     
AJ Whitehornnot out15     
J Blincoeb McCarthy2     
GE Wimsettb Gudgeon5     
Extras(11 b)11
Total(all out, 120 minutes, 42 overs)110
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Corder), 2-4 (Harper), 3-24 (McFarlane), 4-?, 5-49, 6-86, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-110 (42 ov)
Taranaki bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McCarthy21   2516--
Gudgeon21   3484--

Taranaki first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PM Prattb Whitehorn45     
LA Elliottb Graham35     
V Elliottb Graham7     
B McCarthyc McFarlane b Graham14     
W Jonesc Stiles b Whitehorn2     
*GT Baylyrun out (Harper)3     
G Gudgeonc McFarlane b Graham0     
Parkinsonst Stiles b Graham3     
A Baylyb Graham1     
MJ Goodsonnot out3     
HD Couttsb Whitehorn7     
Extras(3 b)3
Total(all out, 45.1 overs)123
Fall of wickets:
1-77 (Pratt), 2-87 (LA Elliott), 3-88 (V Elliott), 4-102 (McCarthy), 5-108 (GT Bayly), 6-108 (Jones), 7-110 (Gudgeon), 8-112 (Parkinson), 9-113 (A Bayly), 10-123 (Coutts, 45.1 ov)
Nelson bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Graham23   2646--
Wimsett3   0190--
McFarlane4   0100--

Nelson second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J McFarlaneb McCarthy2     
LH Grahamb A Bayly18     
AJ Whitehornb McCarthy8     
F Blincoeb A Bayly8     
J Corderb McCarthy5     
G Harperc McCarthy b A Bayly9     
H Wastneyc LA Elliott b A Bayly4     
WDA Chisholmnot out5     
*+RW Stilesc and b GT Bayly6     
J Blincoeb GT Bayly0     
GE Wimsettrun out3     
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(all out, 42 overs)69
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (McFarlane), 2-26 (Whitehorn), 3-34 (Graham), 4-37 (F Blincoe), 5-43 (Corder), 6-52 (Wastney), 7-56 (Harper), 8-65 (Stiles), 9-65 (J Blincoe), 10-69 (Wimsett, 42 ov)
Taranaki bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gudgeon4   170--
McCarthy17   5313--
A Bayly17   5194--
GT Bayly4   0112--

Taranaki second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PM Prattrun out (Graham->Stiles)3     
LA Elliottb Graham4     
V Elliottb Whitehorn3     
B McCarthyb Graham7     
*GT Baylylbw b Graham6     
MJ Goodsonc and b Graham0     
G Gudgeonc Chisholm b Graham5     
W Jonesc Corder b Graham0     
A Baylyc McFarlane b Whitehorn10     
HD Couttsb Whitehorn4     
Parkinsonnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(all out, 31 overs)44
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (Pratt), 2-10 (V Elliott), 3-10 (LA Elliott), 4-22 (GT Bayly), 5-23 (McCarthy), 6-29 (Gudgeon), 7-29 (Goodson), 8-40 (A Bayly), 9-40 (Jones), 10-44 (Coutts, 31 ov)
Nelson bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Graham16   7276--
Whitehorn15   8153--

Taranaki debuts: LA Elliott, V Elliott, W Jones and Parkinson