Central Districts v Otago
Shell Trophy 1979/80
VenueFitzherbert Park, Palmerston North on 4th, 5th, 6th January 1980 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossOtago won the toss and decided to bat
ResultCentral Districts won by 9 wickets
PointsCentral Districts 18 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Otago 3 (Batting 1, Bowling 2)
UmpiresDA Kinsella, JG Reardon
Close of play day 1Central Districts (1) 147/3 (Pierce 55*)
Close of play day 2Central Districts (2) 3/0 (Pierce 1*, Jones 0*)
Man of the MatchDR O'Sullivan

Otago first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerc Smith b Aberhart42     
SJ McCullumc Smith b Shrimpton13     
IA Rutherfordc Smith b Aberhart25     
WL Blairc Edwards b Toynbee15     
BR Blairc Langridge b Toynbee36     
TD Sutherlandc Smith b Jordan0     
*+WK Leesc Aberhart b O'Sullivan18     
JG Bracewellnot out16     
BL Cairnsc Edwards b O'Sullivan1     
PW Hillsc Edwards b O'Sullivan0     
SL Boockb O'Sullivan0     
Extras(2 b, 4 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)10
Total(all out, 74.4 overs)176
Fall of wickets:
1-37, 2-74, 3-99, 4-113, 5-114, 6-137, 7-169, 8-172, 9-172, 10-176 (74.4 ov)
Central Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jordan19   8401--
Aberhart20   5442--
Shrimpton9   1231--
Toynbee10   2192--

Central Districts first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RA Piercec Cairns b Boock65     
AH Jonesb Boock15     
RW Andersonc Sutherland b Boock55     
MJF Shrimptonc Boock b Bracewell9     
MH Toynbeelbw b Boock22     
GN Edwardsst Lees b Boock24     
GJ Langridgeb Boock62     
+IDS Smithb Bracewell25     
DC Aberhartb Cairns1     
*DR O'Sullivannot out6     
AB Jordanrun out1     
Extras(8 b, 11 lb, 2 nb)21
Total(all out, 122.5 overs)306
Fall of wickets:
1-43, 2-118, 3-147, 4-178, 5-183, 6-216, 7-255, 8-289, 9-303, 10-306 (122.5 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hills14   4310--
Boock52   191036--
Bracewell42   131122--

Otago second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerc Smith b Jordan0     
SJ McCullumb O'Sullivan38     
IA Rutherfordc Jones b O'Sullivan44     
WL Blairc Edwards b Toynbee0     
BR Blairc Jones b O'Sullivan23     
TD Sutherlandnot out28     
*+WK Leesc Smith b Aberhart1     
JG Bracewellc Edwards b O'Sullivan14     
BL Cairnslbw b O'Sullivan0     
PW Hillsc Jones b O'Sullivan0     
SL Boocklbw b Aberhart0     
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)9
Total(all out, 84.4 overs)157
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-75, 3-76, 4-114, 5-116, 6-121, 7-144, 8-144, 9-144, 10-157 (84.4 ov)
Central Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jordan7   1291--
Shrimpton15   5330--
O'Sullivan38   16406--
Toynbee16   7441--

Central Districts second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RA Piercenot out16     
AH Joneslbw b Boock1     
RW Andersonnot out5     
MJF Shrimptondid not bat      
MH Toynbeedid not bat      
GN Edwardsdid not bat      
GJ Langridgedid not bat      
+IDS Smithdid not bat      
DC Aberhartdid not bat      
*DR O'Sullivandid not bat      
AB Jordandid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 1 lb, 2 nb)6
Total(1 wicket, 13.5 overs)28
Fall of wickets:
1-22 (Jones)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cairns2   110--
Hills3   210--
Lees2   060--
BR Blair1   100--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> AB Jordan made his last appearance in Plunket Shield matches
--> GM Turner (1) passed 29000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 41
--> GJ Langridge (1) passed his previous highest score of 61 in first-class matches
--> GJ Langridge (1) passed his previous highest score of 61 in Plunket Shield matches
--> DR O'Sullivan reached 350 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 6th wicket in the Otago second innings
--> DR O'Sullivan reached 200 wickets in Plunket Shield matches when taking his 5th wicket in the Otago second innings
--> DR O'Sullivan achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Plunket Shield matches in the Otago second innings (previous best was 6-51)