Otago v Northern Districts
Shell Trophy 1978/79 (Section One)
VenueLogan Park, Dunedin on 20th, 21st, 22nd January 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossNorthern Districts won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthern Districts won by 6 runs
PointsOtago 6 (Batting 3, Bowling 3); Northern Districts 18 (Batting 3, Bowling 3)
UmpiresRW Hall, AL Turner
Close of play day 1Otago (1) 91/3 (Rutherford 44*, BR Blair 29*)
Close of play day 2Northern Districts (2) 117/6 (Parker 54*, Dickeson 4*)

Northern Districts first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Wrightc Bracewell b Hills13     
JG Gibsonc Facoory b Hills2     
GP Howarthb Boock81     
*JM Parkerrun out70     
CM Kuggeleijnc Lees b Cairns6     
PJ Hollandlbw b Cairns0     
+MJE Wrightc Lees b Boock1     
CW Dickesonc Lees b Boock14     
AJP Stimpsonc and b Bracewell19     
SJ Scottc BR Blair b Bracewell14     
EK Gillottnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)6
Total(all out, 70.5 overs)226
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-44, 3-143, 4-177, 5-177, 6-178, 7-178, 8-206, 9-226, 10-226 (70.5 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cairns26   5672--
Hills9   2412--
Boock25   6613--

Otago first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IA Rutherfordc Holland b Dickeson54     
SJ McCullumb Scott0     
PR Facooryb Stimpson3     
WL Blairb Dickeson8     
BR Blairc JG Wright b Gillott63     
KO Campbellc Holland b Howarth74     
*+WK Leesc MJE Wright b Gillott13     
BL Cairnsrun out0     
JG Bracewelllbw b Dickeson14     
PW Hillslbw b Howarth2     
SL Boocknot out7     
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)9
Total(all out, 79.6 overs)247
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-11, 3-38, 4-130, 5-142, 6-157, 7-158, 8-203, 9-234, 10-247 (79.6 ov)
Northern Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Stimpson11   3481--
Scott21   3711--
Dickeson32   8633--
Gillott12   3412--

Northern Districts second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Wrightc McCullum b Cairns10     
JG Gibsonlbw b Cairns0     
GP Howarthb Cairns16     
*JM Parkerc Campbell b Bracewell106     
CM Kuggeleijnlbw b Cairns6     
PJ Hollandc WL Blair b Bracewell10     
+MJE Wrightc WL Blair b Boock9     
CW Dickesonc Facoory b Bracewell17     
AJP Stimpsonc WL Blair b Boock31     
SJ Scottc WL Blair b Boock0     
EK Gillottnot out12     
Extras(4 lb, 5 nb)9
Total(all out, 85.3 overs)226
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-18, 3-45, 4-63, 5-76, 6-113, 7-159, 8-194, 9-195, 10-226 (85.3 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cairns24   7694--
Hills3   0220--
Bracewell20   4523--

Otago second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IA Rutherfordrun out18     
SJ McCullumb Howarth14     
PR Facoorylbw b Dickeson1     
WL Blairc and b Dickeson15     
BR Blairb Dickeson34     
KO Campbellst MJE Wright b Gillott64     
*+WK Leesb Scott34     
BL Cairnsc Stimpson b Dickeson0     
JG Bracewellc MJE Wright b Scott1     
PW Hillslbw b Gillott3     
SL Boocknot out4     
Extras(4 b, 5 lb, 2 nb)11
Total(all out, 50.6 overs)199
Fall of wickets:
1-30, 2-31, 3-51, 4-51, 5-70, 6-98, 7-169, 8-171, 9-190, 10-199 (50.6 ov)
Northern Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Stimpson2   060--
Scott9   0382--
Dickeson22   8714--
Howarth9   2411--
Parker1   090--

--> Each first innings was limited to 85 overs
--> JM Parker (1) passed 2000 runs in Plunket Shield matches when he reached 30
--> JM Parker (2) passed 8500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 19
--> AJP Stimpson made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> AJP Stimpson made his last appearance in Plunket Shield matches
--> EK Gillott made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> EK Gillott made his last appearance in Plunket Shield matches
--> WK Lees (2) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 4
--> SL Boock reached 150 wickets in Plunket Shield matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Northern Districts first innings