North Otago v Ashburton County
Hawke Cup 1960/61 (Elimination Match)
VenueWaitaki Boys High School Ground, Oamaru on 17th, 18th March 1961 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn (Ashburton County won on first innings)
UmpiresF Holloway, JP McConway
Close of play day 1

Ashburton County first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IJ Griffithsb Cartwright10     
EG Wainscottrun out10     
RG Hortinb Cartwright83 1698- 
CR Pricec Taiaroa b Wilson50 114   
+BE Tuttyc Taiaroa b Wilson40     
LJ Piercerun out16     
GJ Behrnesb Wilson10     
JK Hooperb Cowles11     
BA Coulterc Cartwright b Wilson0     
GF McCormickb Cartwright29     
LR Moorenot out3     
Extras(4 b, 6 lb, 1 nb)11
Total(all out, 115.2 overs)273
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-24, 3-138, 4-171, 5-209, 6-224, 7-234, 8-234, 9-253, 10-273 (115.2 ov)
North Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cowles38   9841--
Wilson30   0724--
Kerr6   0180--
Graham5   180--

North Otago first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WB Kerrlbw b Coulter11     
R Dempsterc Tutty b Griffiths2     
JG Wilsonc Tutty b Griffiths7     
R Taiaroac Tutty b Wainscott16     
CG Grahamb Wainscott9     
*AG Cartwrightc Hortin b Wainscott8     
P McLeanc Price b Griffiths57  43 
MJ Reidb Wainscott6     
RS Paynelbw b Moore14     
JG Kylesrun out0     
GW Cowlesnot out1     
Extras(3 lb, 2 nb)5
Total(all out, 55.4 overs)136
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-23, 3-26, 4-47, 5-52, 6-69, 7-86, 8-129, 9-133, 10-136 (55.4 ov)
Ashburton County bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McCormick12   4260--
Coulter13   4221--
Moore8   2241--
Wainscott11   2364--

North Otago second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
WB Kerrc Tutty b McCormick32     
R Dempsterb Wainscott37     
JG Wilsonc Hortin b Behrnes1     
R Taiaroac Moore b Wainscott29     
CG Grahamb Coulter10     
*AG Cartwrightnot out12     
P McLeanb McCormick7     
RS Paynenot out19     
GW Cowlesc Hortin b Wainscott9     
JG Kylesdid not bat      
MJ Reiddid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb, 2 nb)6
Total(7 wickets, 48 overs)162
Fall of wickets:
1-68, 2-69, 3-104, 4-104, 5-114, 6-130, 7-131
Ashburton County bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McCormick8   5102--
Coulter8   4131--
Griffiths6   2140--
Moore4   1130--
Wainscott10   0443--
Hortin4   1110--
Behrnes3   1291--
Pierce2   090--
Hooper2   070--
Tutty1   060--

RG Hortin and CR Price added 114 in 114 minutes for the third wicket in the Ashburton County first innings