Wairarapa v Manawatu
Hawke Cup 1950/51 (Challenge Match)
VenuePark Oval, Masterton on 2nd, 3rd February 1951 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWairarapa won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWairarapa won by 179 runs
UmpiresAI Charles, GG Coleman
Close of play day 1Manawatu (1) 20/0 (McVicar 10*, Pollitt 4*)

Wairarapa first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+KM Millerc Ongley b Scott30     
HH Whitingc Colquhoun b Rice19     
EGA Mastersc Rice b Adcock70  91 
*ME Chapplec Adcock b McVicar144  191 
TA Robertsb Adcock1     
WJ Footec McVicar b Pollitt25     
CN O'Kanerun out (Adcock)4     
J McArthurc Colquhoun b McVicar7     
A Cruickshankb McVicar01 -- 
BD Reevesb Adcock1     
AI Newlandnot out0     
Extras(6 b)6
Total(all out, 330 minutes, 120.3 overs)307
Fall of wickets:
1-26 (Whiting), 2-85 (Miller), 3-142 (Masters), 4-158 (Roberts), 5-262 (Foote), 6-277 (O'Kane), 7-302 (McArthur), 8-302 (Cruickshank), 9-307 (Reeves), 10-307 (Chapple, 120.3 ov)
Manawatu bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McLeod15   3440--
Dean10   3270--
Rice20   4701--
Adcock37   11843--
Scott15   2381--
Pollitt7   1161--

Manawatu first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CC McVicarc McArthur b Chapple13     
W Pollittlbw b Newland10     
HF Ricelbw b Masters8     
*JA Ongleyc Miller b Masters12     
J Andrewsrun out14     
RG Wildelbw b Cruickshank19     
RK Adcockrun out (Chapple)0     
LRD Scottb Newland0     
+IA Colquhounb Cruickshank4     
DS Deannot out1     
B McLeodc and b Cruickshank2     
Extras(6 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)9
Total(all out, 131 minutes, 48 overs)92
Fall of wickets:
1-25 (McVicar), 2-33 (Pollitt), 3-43 (Rice), 4-55 (Ongley), 5-78 (Andrews), 6-78 (Adcock), 7-81 (Scott), 8-85 (Wilde), 9-90 (Colquhoun), 10-92 (McLeod, 48 ov)
Wairarapa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cruickshank14   4333--
Newland16   7212--
Chapple10   681--
Masters7   2192-1
Whiting1   020--

Wairarapa second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+KM Millerlbw b Rice1     
HH Whitingb Dean16     
EGA Mastersc Wilde b Adcock13     
*ME Chapplec Colquhoun b Dean0     
TA Robertsc McLeod b Dean0     
WJ Footec Ongley b Dean0     
CN O'Kaneb Adcock8     
A Cruickshankc McVicar b Adcock12     
J McArthurb Rice11     
BD Reevesc and b Rice14     
AI Newlandnot out1     
Extras(4 b)4
Total(all out, 52.3 overs)80
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Miller), 2-29 (Masters), 3-29 (Chapple), 4-29 (Roberts), 5-31 (Foote), 6-36 (Whiting), 7-46 (O'Kane), 8-53 (Cruickshank), 9-77 (Reeves), 10-80 (McArthur, 52.3 ov)
Manawatu bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Adcock24   4453--
Dean16   10184--
McVicar3   130--

Manawatu second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CC McVicarlbw b Cruickshank021-- 
W Pollittc Miller b Chapple5     
HF Ricelbw b Chapple2     
J Andrewsb Cruickshank3     
RG Wildec Roberts b Newland26     
RK Adcockc and b Newland12     
*JA Ongleyb Whiting1     
LRD Scottc Cruickshank b Chapple30     
+IA Colquhounb Cruickshank18     
DS Deanc Whiting b Cruickshank9     
B McLeodnot out5     
Extras(4 b, 1 nb)5
Total(all out, 48.2 overs)116
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (McVicar, 0.2 ov), 2-3 (Rice), 3-10 (Andrews), 4-14 (Pollitt), 5-42 (Adcock), 6-49 (Ongley), 7-49 (Wilde), 8-89 (Colquhoun), 9-106 (Scott), 10-116 (Dean, 48.2 ov)
Wairarapa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Chapple11   4313--
Newland6   0262--
Whiting14   1251--
Masters3   180--

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.
--> Wairarapa first innings: 300 in 306 minutes
--> ME Chapple (1) 100 in 148 minutes with 15 fours and 1 six

ME Chapple and WJ Foote added 104 for the fifth wicket in the Wairarapa first innings