Wairarapa v Rangitikei
Hawke Cup 1921/22 (Challenge Match)
VenuePark Oval, Masterton on 22nd, 23rd, 24th December 1921 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossWairarapa won the toss and decided to bat
ResultRangitikei won by 7 wickets
UmpiresT Flannery, LH Smart
Close of play day 1Rangitikei (1) 250/6 (Daniell 16*, JD Smith 1*)
Close of play day 2Wairarapa (2) 221/7 (AHM Hoar 20*)

Wairarapa first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DC Collinsb Bennett99     
E Freemanb Bennett18     
W Hendersonlbw b Bennett8     
TH Hallamlbw b Burgess18     
*DK Loganc Daniell b Burgess0     
+S Wilsonc and b Bennett0     
AHM Hoarc Burgess b E Smith10     
EM Bundleb Bennett7     
FR Hoarrun out4     
P Smithc Burgess b Broad4     
TR Southallnot out0     
Total(all out, 36.5 overs)168
Fall of wickets:
1-38 (Freeman), 2-48 (Henderson), 3-81 (Hallam), 4-81 (Logan), 5-82 (Wilson), 6-120 (AHM Hoar), 7-153 (Bundle), 8-160 (Collins), 9-164 (FR Hoar), 10-168 (Smith, 36.5 ov)
Rangitikei bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Colthart5   0260--
JD Smith3   0140--
Bennett15   2445--
Burgess7   0362--
E Smith4   0351--

Rangitikei first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+HF Arkwrightb Smith14     
DA Cameronb Smith129     
E Smithb Collins32     
GL Marshalllbw b Collins18     
JS Daniellb Southall23     
E Colthartlbw b Southall8     
*JHC Broadb Collins7     
JD Smithc Freeman b Smith29     
L Gardnerc +Hallam b Southall2     
WH Burgessc FR Hoar b Southall4     
WW Bennettnot out0     
Total(all out, 54.5 overs)292
Fall of wickets:
1-54 (Arkwright), 2-148 (E Smith), 3-179 (Marshall), 4-222 (Cameron), 5-230 (Colthart), 6-245 (Broad), 7-265 (Daniell), 8-267 (Gardner), 9-283 (Burgess), 10-292 (JD Smith, 54.5 ov)
Wairarapa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Collins18   2673--
Southall13   1444--
FR Hoar4   1120--
Henderson3   0250--
Logan2   0110--
Hallam5   0260--

Wairarapa second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DC Collinsc Gardner b Bennett76  6- 
E Freemanb Broad11     
FR Hoarc Colthart b Bennett0     
TH Hallamb Bennett39     
W Hendersonlbw b JD Smith25     
AHM Hoarc JD Smith b Burgess25     
*DK Loganc and b Bennett2     
EM Bundlec Burgess b Colthart43  9- 
+S Wilsonnot out10     
P Smithb Burgess0     
TR Southallb Bennett9     
Total(all out, 71 overs)254
Fall of wickets:
1-26 (Freeman), 2-29 (FR Hoar), 3-113 (Hallam), 4-138 (Collins), 5-155 (Henderson), 6-158 (Logan), 7-221 (Bundle), 8-243 (AHM Hoar), 9-243 (Smith), 10-254 (Southall, 71 ov)
Rangitikei bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bennett28   7635--
Broad14   2651--
Burgess13   2482--
JD Smith9   1371--
Colthart6   1231--
E Smith1   040--

Rangitikei second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+HF Arkwrightlbw b FR Hoar11     
DA Cameronb FR Hoar47     
JS Danielllbw b FR Hoar0     
E Smithnot out61     
GL Marshallnot out12     
E Colthartdid not bat      
*JHC Broaddid not bat      
JD Smithdid not bat      
L Gardnerdid not bat      
WH Burgessdid not bat      
WW Bennettdid not bat      
Total(3 wickets, 29 overs)136
Fall of wickets:
1-34 (Arkwright), 2-34 (Daniell), 3-94 (Cameron)
Wairarapa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Southall5   0380--
FR Hoar10   1403--
Logan5   0230--
Smith2   070--
Collins3   180--
Hallam2   0110--
Henderson2   040--

--> DC Collins (1) 50 in 75 minutes

Rain delayed the start of play on the second day until 1.30pm
TH Hallam took over as wicket-keeper at the start of the second day in place of S Wilson who had injured a finger on the first day
Bad light ended play on the second day at the fall of the 7th wicket
TH Hallam was the wicket-keeper at the start of the Rangitikei second innings but it is not known who took over from him during the innings
L Gardner played under the name of L Tavener