Wairarapa v Horowhenua
Other matches in New Zealand 1963/64
VenueQueen Elizabeth Park, Masterton on 27th, 28th December 1963 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHorowhenua won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
Close of play day 1Wairarapa (1) 152/6 (Houghton 17*; 31.1 overs)

Horowhenua first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JE Burnellc Carter b Moss12     
DJ Hemic Glover b Biss15     
*WL Buckinghamrun out (Moss->Whitcombe)21     
MH Kayesc +Whitcombe b Biss118     
JW McAuliffeb Glover9     
HN Sciasciab Biss23     
+GS Lawtonst +Whitcombe b Jimmieson13     
A Doigb Jimmieson0     
D Hadfieldb Biss16     
AT Satherleynot out10     
DER Holmesc Glover b Jimmieson12     
Total(all out, 69.3 overs)259
Fall of wickets:
1-28 (Hemi), 2-28 (Burnell), 3-98 (Buckingham), 4-127 (McAuliffe), 5-188, 6-192, 7-221, 8-230, 9-241, 10-259 (69.3 ov)
Wairarapa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Biss14   1544--
Moss15   2681--
Glover22   5571--
Small3   250--

Wairarapa first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DT Bissc Lawton b Hadfield021-- 
FR Daviesc McAuliffe b Satherley17     
RG Smallb Holmes39     
K Percyc Buckingham b Burnell38     
MJ Carterc Kayes b Hadfield29     
*+JHP Houghtonnot out100     
LW Fryerc Holmes b Burnell0     
TL Gloverc Lawton b Hadfield9     
DGM Whitcombec Doig b Hadfield25     
RD Jimmiesonb Buckingham0     
JR Mossnot out6     
Total(9 wickets, declared, 67.1 overs)277
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Biss, 0.2 ov), 2-44 (Davies), 3-92, 4-109, 5-151, 6-152 (31.1 ov), 7-179, 8-262, 9-263
Horowhenua bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hadfield25   5864--
Satherley12   1951--
Burnell19   4472--
Buckingham2   041--

Horowhenua second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JE Burnellretired hurt28     
DJ Hemilbw b Glover26     
*WL Buckinghamlbw b Glover36     
JW McAuliffec Fryer b Glover0     
MH Kayeslbw b Percy46     
+GS Lawtonlbw b Percy50     
A Doigc Houghton b Glover9     
HN Sciascianot out0     
D Hadfielddid not bat      
AT Satherleydid not bat      
DER Holmesdid not bat      
Total(6 wickets, declared, 213 minutes, 51.4 overs)207
Fall of wickets:
1-95, 2-104, 3-104, 4-196, 5-203, 6-207 (51.4 ov)
Wairarapa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Biss8   3300--
Whitcombe6   0200--
Jimmieson5   0270--
Moss6   0260--
Small4   1130--
Percy6   0242--

Wairarapa second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DT Bissc Satherley b Hadfield042-- 
FR Daviesb Hadfield11     
RG Smalllbw b Satherley48     
K Percyc Burnell b Holmes47     
JR Mossc Hadfield b Holmes8     
MJ Carternot out24     
*+JHP Houghtonnot out22     
LW Fryerdid not bat      
TL Gloverdid not bat      
DGM Whitcombedid not bat      
RD Jimmiesondid not bat      
Total(5 wickets, 101 minutes, 32 overs)171
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Biss, 0.4 ov), 2-11 (Davies), 3-115, 4-119, 5-131
Horowhenua bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hadfield6   1292--
Satherley14   1591--
Holmes10   0562--
Burnell2   0140--

--> Bowling in the Wairarapa first innings adds 1 run over
--> Wairarapa second innings batting adds 2 runs over
--> Horowhenua first innings: 100 in 95 minutes
--> MH Kayes (1) 50 in 50 minutes
--> JE Burnell retired hurt in the Horowhenua second innings having scored 28 (team score 36/0)

After 25 minutes in the Horowhenua first innings DG Whitcombe took over as wicket-keeper when JHP Houghton suffered a finger injury although Houghton did remain on the field
Wairarapa were left with 101 minutes to score 190 runs for the outright win
RG Small and K Percy added 104 for the third wicket in the Wairarapa second innings